‘TO A DEAD LOVER’ -A POEM BY LOUISE BOGAN !

LOUISE BOGAN tumblr_l6zya6gs0s1qzrkvzo1_400
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

“To A Dead Lover”

The dark is thrown
Back from the brightness, like
hair
Cast over a shoulder.
I am alone,
Four years older;
Like the chairs and the walls
Which I once watched brighten
With you beside me. I was to
waken
Never like this, whatever came or
was taken.
The stalk grows, the year beats
on the wind.
Apples come, and the month for
their fall.
The bark spreads, the roots
tighten.
Though today be the last
Or tomorrow all,
You will not mind.
That I may not remember
Does not matter.
I shall not be with you again.
What we knew, even now
Must scatter
And be ruined, and blow
Like dust in the rain.
You have been dead a long
season
And have less than desire
Who were lover with lover;
And I have life—that old reason
To wait for what comes,
To leave what is over.

Louise Bogan.

Leave a Reply

